4 Sep 2010

Voted 11th Top Councillor blog! Yabadabadooo!

Hey a comment on my blog has alerted me to the fact that Total Politics announced the top 30 councillor blogs a couple of days ago. I am indeed flattered to see I make 11th place - and good to see Rupert Reed one step ahead of me and also Greening Kirklees in the charts....

Here's the full list below - and I've added the political party of each councillor - 3 Greens, 2 Independents, 5 Lib Dems, 10 Tory, 9 Labour and one that I'm not sure if it should be there! I've left that one with a '?' below and let you make up your mind! Oh but first the press release that was sent out about it....

Philip Booth, Stroud District councillor for Randwick, Whiteshill and Ruscombe ward, made 11th place in the national chart of Councillor's blogs organised by Total Politics. Just last week he made the top 10 Green bloggers in the country with fellow Stroud blogger, Molly Scott Cato.

Philip Booth, whose blog Ruscombe Green is the only councillor blog recognised in Gloucestershire, sees over 3,000 visitors a month and has over 2,500 blog entries to date. He said: "It is great to have the blog recognised in this national poll. Quite a surprise. I started the blog when I was first elected as a local Green councillor in May 2006 as a way to share with residents what I was doing as a local councillor. The blog also covers local projects and campaigns in which I'm involved. The blog is a bit of fun that covers all sorts and often includes local cartoons, movies and photos. I get a number of emails every day about the blogs: some challenging, some supporting. It is another way to be in touch with people."

There are now millions of blogs worldwide. They are a form of website or part of a website that is usually maintained by an individual with regular entries of commentary, debate, thoughts or reports.

1 (1) (Lab) Luke Akehurst
2 (4) (Tory) Paul Scully
3 (3)(Tory) Richard Willis
4 (5) (Tory) Steve Tierney
5 (29) (LibDEm) A Lanson Boy
6 (6) (Lab) Bob Piper
7 (Lab) From One End of Kent
8 (11) (Lab) Cllr Tim Blog
9 (16) (LibDem) Fraser Macpherson
10 (Green) Rupert Read
11 (Green) Ruscombe Green
12 (26)(Lab) Anthony McKeown
13 (Tory) Sean Haffey
14 (14) (Tory) Iain Lindley
15 (Lab) Louise Baldock
16 (LibDem) Ffranc Sais
17 (7) (Tory) James Cleverly AM
18 (2) (Lab) Bickerstaffe Record
19 (17) (Tory) Roger Evans AM (City Hall)
20 (?) Adlib at You Never Can Tell
21 (Tory) James Cousins
22 (15) (Tory) Lightwater
23 (8) (Welsh Independent) Gwilym Euros Roberts
24 (LibDem) Eaten by Missionaries
25 (12) (Lab) Fair Deal Phil
26 (Green) Greening Kirklees
27 (Lab) Sarah Hayward
28 (Independent) Cllr Andrew Wallis
29 (LibDem) Cllr Iain Roberts
30 (20) (Tory) Rene Kinzett

This list is the result of more than 2,200 people who voted in the Total Politics Annual Blog Poll during the second half of July.


Adrian Windisch said...

Congrats on this, good news to see Greens so high up.

And Richard Willis is a Tory.

Philip Booth said...

Thanks - I've changed him back to a Tory! Not sure how that happened!